AIM Awards Recipients

AIM Award Recipients

2022 AIM Distinguished Service Award

The Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) recognizes Sylk Sotto, EdD, MBA, MPS, as the 2022 AIM Distinguished Service Award recipient.

On faculty since 2015, Dr. Sotto currently serves as Vice-Chair for Faculty Affairs, Development and Diversity, at Indiana University School of Medicine. She previously served as Division Administrator, Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. Dr. Sotto earned her EdD from the University of Denver.

A member of AIM since 2011, Dr. Sotto is a former AIM President and member of various AIM and AAIM committees. She served as the inaugural AAIM Board of Directors Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion liaison. Dr. Sotto’s nominator notes, “Our future as an organization and specialty is better off because of her leadership, scholarship, and presence.” Dr. Sotto completed AAMC’s Healthcare Executive Diversity and Inclusion Certificate in 2021. She is a recipient of the 2021 Indiana University Board of Trustees Award, a distinguished teaching award in recognition of teaching excellence and contribution to medical education.

“I attended my first AIM meeting in 2012 as a division administrator and as part of an Alliance diversity initiative that helped me attend my first annual conference. During that first meeting, I met critical people that are still part of my network today. In the Alliance, I found my professional home and a great community, if not family, of administrators and medical educators. Receiving this award really represents my love for this organization. I thank a great community for helping me shape my career and helping me achieve my professional purpose.”

Back to awards

Sylk Sotto, EdD, MBA, MPSSylk Sotto