Building Trust through Diversity 2021

Grant Program: Building Trust through Diversity, Health Care Equity, & Inclusion in Internal Medicine Training


POA-2021-Award-Badges-Silver.pngThe Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM), American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM), the ABIM Foundation, the American College of Physicians (ACP), and the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation collaborated to co-sponsor a grant program to support projects that were (a) led by individuals or groups of learners and faculty in internal medicine education and training and (b) intended to promote trust and create a more equitable health system by incorporating diversity, equity and inclusion into the fabric of internal medicine education and training. The sponsors were particularly interested in funding proposals that addressed the relationship between trust and issues of bias and diversity, at the patient-physician/learner, team, or health system/hospital level.

Funding Available

The Alliance, ABIM, the ABIM Foundation, ACP, and the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation have awarded a total of $287,500, split among 32 projects at medical schools and training programs. Grantees will use this funding to support programs that incorporate diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) into internal medicine education and training. Grants will be distributed at the $20,000, $5,000 and $2,500 levels, depending on the scope of the program.

2021 Grantees

Organizations receiving grant funding include:

  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Columbia University Medical Center
  • Community Memorial Health System
  • Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
  • Emory University
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • George Washington University
  • Hennepin Healthcare
  • Hofstra University
  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Magnolia Regional Health Center/University of Mississippi Medical Center
  • MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
  • Mount Sinai West Hospital
  • NCH Healthcare System
  • Oregon Health & Science University Hillsboro Medical Center
  • Riverside University Health System
  • Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
  • Stamford Health
  • Stanford University
  • University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix
  • University of California Davis
  • University of California San Diego*
  • University of Illinois, Peoria Campus
  • University of Maryland
  • University of North Carolina
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • University of Texas Southwestern
  • University of Washington School of Medicine
  • UT Health San Antonio
  • UT Southwestern Medical Center

*Awarded two grants

View press release


  • December 10, 2020: Deadline to submit a letter of intent
  • December-February 2021: Grant committee reviewing letters of intent 
  • March-April 2021: Applicants invited to submit full grant proposals
  • June 2021: 2021 grant awardees selected and announced

Questions or more information about the grants process, please contact

Sponsoring Organizations

American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM): Since its founding in 1936 to answer a public call to establish more uniform standards for physicians, certification by the ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 21 subspecialties. Certification has meant that internists have demonstrated – to their peers and to the public – that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care. ABIM is not a membership society, but a physician-led, non-profit, independent evaluation organization. Our accountability is both to the profession of medicine and to the public.

ABIM Foundation: The ABIM Foundation’s mission is to advance medical professionalism to improve the health care system by collaborating with physicians and physician leaders, medical trainees, health care delivery systems, payers, policymakers, consumer organizations and patients to foster a shared understanding of professionalism and how they can adopt the tenets of professionalism in practice.

Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM): The Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine promotes the advancement and professional development of its members who prepare the next generation of internal medicine physicians and leaders through education, research, engagement, and collaboration.

American College of Physicians (ACP): The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 163,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness.

Josiah H. Macy Foundation: Since 1930, the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation has worked to improve health care in the United States. Founded by Kate Macy Ladd in memory of her father, prominent businessman Josiah Macy Jr., the Foundation supports projects that broaden and improve health professional education. It is the only national foundation solely dedicated to this mission.