2019 Research Pathways Workshop


Welcome to the 2019 Research Pathways Directors Workshop site. Physician-Scientists play a vital role in advancing medicine by conducting biomedical research. The workshop will be held in conjunction with Academic Internal Medicine Week 2019, the national conference of the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM). The workshop serves as a venue for physician-scientists training program faculty to share best practices, discuss future trends, and network with peers.

View agenda (PDF)

The Physician-Scientist Post-Graduate Training Subcommittee is a group within the AAIM Research Committee’s oversight. The subcommittee is charged with sustaining  and promoting a community of research program directors to develop and share best practices in physician-scientist training. It functions as the central body for data collection, analysis, and dissemination of research-related outcomes of residency and fellowship research programs. One of the group’s initiatives is to design, produce, and execute the half-day Research Pathways Directors Workshop in conjunction with Academic Internal Medicine Week. 

Please send your questions to: pstpd@im.org


Robert A. Salata, M.D.
STERIS Chair of Excellence in Medicine
Professor of Medicine, International Health and Epidemiology/Biostatistics
Case Western Reserve University

Mone Zaidi, MD, PhD, MACP, FRCP
Professor of Medicine
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York
Vice Chair, AAIM Research Committee

Christopher S. Williams, MD, PhD
Associate Dean, Physician Scientist Education and Training
Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Associate Director, Physician-Scientist Training Program

David Ginsburg, MD
James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine
Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine
University of Michigan

Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, MD
Associate Dean for Research Education SOM
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Director, Physician-Scientist Residency Training Program
Professor, Departments of Medicine, Biochemistry, and Molecular Genetics
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Mukesh Jain, MD, FAHA
Professor Department of Medicine, and of Physiology and Biophysics
Ellery Sedgewick Jr. Chair and Distinguished Scientist
Vice Dean for Medical Sciences
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Chief Scientific Officer, University Hospital Health System
Member, US National Academy of Medicine

Lawrence “Skip” Brass, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
Associate Dean for Combined Degree and Physician Scholar Programs
Director, Penn MSTP
University of Pennsylvania

Deborah Lenschow, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Washington University School of Medicine

Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Duke University School of Medicine

Alexander Charney, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Genomic Sciences
Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Robert Baiocchi, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Physician Scientist Training Program
Ohio State University School of Medicine

Nacide Ercan-Fang, MD
Associate Program Director
University of Minnesota Medical School

Physician-Scientist Post-Graduate Training Subcommittee

  • Neil Aggarwal, MD
  • Olujimi A. Ajijola, MD, PhD
  • Rebecca Baron, MD
  • Melvin S. Blanchard, MD
  • Lawrence F. Brass, MD, PhD
  • Alexander Charney, MD, PhD
  • Linda L. Demer, MD, PhD
  • Nacide Ercan-Fang, MD
  • Patrick Hu, MD, PhD
  • Michael P. Madaio, MD
  • Robert Salata, MD
  • Jatin M. Vyas, MD, PhD, FIDSA, FACP
  • Christopher S. Williams, MD, PhD (Chair)
  • Mone Zaidi, MD, PhD, MACP