AAIM Awards Recipients

AAIM Award Recipients

2022 AAIM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

The Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) recognizes Sarah C. Alba-Nguyen, MD, MPH, as the 2022 AAIM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award recipient.                                         

On faculty since 2016, Dr. Alba-Nguyen serves as Assistant Residency Program Director and Director of Graduate Medical Education Diversity at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). Dr. Alba-Nguyen earned her MD from New York University School of Medicine and her MPH in social and behavioral sciences from Boston University. She completed her internal medicine residency training at University of California, San Francisco.

A member of APDIM since 1995, Dr. Alba-Nguyen has presented multiple workshop sessions at Alliance conferences. Her nominators note that her “energy, commitment, talents, and leadership are helping to transform UCSF into a more diverse, equitable and inclusive institution.” They further note that “she has changed our environment through her humility, clarity, and willingness to discuss difficult subjects openly.” Dr. Alba-Nguyen received the UCSF Dean’s Diversity Fund Award, John A. Watson Faculty Scholar, in 2015 and was inducted into the Hailee T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators, UCSF in 2019.

“I'm honored to receive this award and grateful to AAIM for creating this opportunity for DEI efforts to be celebrated. This existence of the award itself is significant as a means to elevate DEI work in academic medicine. I'm most grateful for the many of us who do this vital work across the country, especially my colleagues who are true partners in creating change. I hope that by honoring DEI accomplishments, we can help make it the work of not many but of all.”

Back to awards

Sarah C. Alba-Nguyen, MD, MPHSarah Schaeffer

2022 AAIM Special Recognition Award

The Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) recognizes Davoren A. Chick, MD, FACP, as the 2022 AAIM Special Recognition Award recipient.

On faculty since 2017, Dr. Chick serves as Chief Learning Officer and Senior Vice President, Medical Education at the American College of Physicians. Dr. Chick earned her MD from Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons and completed her internal medicine residency training at Massachusetts General Hospital.

A member of APDIM since 2002, Dr. Chick previously served on the APDIM Council and AAIM Audit Committee. Her nominator explained, “Her work has truly been essential to helping the Alliance meet its mission, helping our members serve their institutions, and helping our learners meet their goals.” Dr. Chick is the author of 96 peer-reviewed publications, curricular works, and book chapters. She is the thought leader and author of the Internal Medicine Milestones project and lead author on multiple nationally disseminated curricular resources including the Caring with Compassion nationally shared curriculum on caring for socioeconomically disadvantaged patients.

“Throughout my career as a medical educator, AAIM has been a continual source of renewal, support, inspiration, and encouragement. As a new program director, I found in APDIM a welcoming community of mentors with generous responses to my many needs. AAIM also offered opportunities for networking and collaboration that were essential for my professional growth. I now endeavor to give back through professional society service and development of nationally supportive systems, learning from my generous AAIM role models. I thank AAIM not only for this award but most importantly for AAIM’s own special service to the medical education community.” 

Back to awards

Davoren A. Chick, MD, FACP Chick-DavorenWEB.png