About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together.

The quality and quantity of tools such as workshops, presentations and curriculum support is magnified when we work together.

AAIM Innovation Grants

March 6, 2018
Following a highly competitive grant application season, the Alliance congratulates the 2018 Innovation Grant recipients, as well as commend the efforts of grant finalists who submitted outstanding applications.

2018 AAIM Innovation Grant Recipients

Cinnamon Bradley, MD
Morehouse School of Medicine (SOM)
A prospective study to assess resilience and burnout among residents resulting from reflection curriculum
Leigh Eck, MD, FACP
University of Kansas SOM
A prospective study of emotional intelligence (EI) coaching v self-directed learning on EI changes

Patricia F. Kao, MD
Washington Univ. St. Louis SOM
A study to assess the effectiveness of a clinical educator career track for UME and GME

Patricia Ng, MD
Stony Brook University Hospital
A quasi-experimential study to develop a structured women’s health curriculum based on program needs assessment
Anjali Niyogi, MD
Tulane University SOM
Development of a multimedia, case-based global health curriculum to address real-life ethical scenarios
Shira Sachs, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Expansion of prospective study to improve educational scholarship and research skills

Christopher Schott, MD
VA Pittsburgh and University of Pittsburgh/UPMC
Development of validated, proficiency-based approach to teach use of ultrasonography
in residency
Lauren Shapiro, MD
Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine (COM)
A prospective cohort study assessing whether wellness half-days and EAP service expsoure impacts burnout among PGY1s.

Melissa Swee, MD

Univ. of Iowa Carver COM
Development of standardized instrument to acquire community advocacy and leadership skills

AAIM appreciates the hard work and outstanding applications of FY18 Innovation Grant Finalists

Catherine Apaloo, MD
Bhavin Dalal, MD
Yohana De Jesus. MD
Zachary Epstein-Peterson, MD
Brian Garibaldi, MD
Brian Hilliard, MD
Angela Jackson, MD
Regina Makdissi, MD
Adewunmi Nuga, MD
Kehinde Odedosu, MD
Ellen Parker, MD
Brianna Rossiter, MD
Lekshmi Santhosh, MD
Laxmi Suthar, MD
Galina Tan, MD

January 19, 2018

Innovation Grants 2018 to be Announced in March 2018: Final applications are under review. Innovation grant awardees will be announced in March 2018.

December 12, 2017

Status updates were emailed today to all those who submitted letters of intent. Please check your inbox to determine whether you were selected to submit a final application. AAIM received a 40% increase in applications this year, meaning we have to decline many outstanding proposals. AAIM appreciates the effort submitters' put into preparing their application and hopes that they will consider proceeding with developing or continuing your project. If you have questions, please contact academicaffairs@im.org.

September 8, 2017
Innovation Grants award $2,500 (single institution) and $5,000 (multi-institution) to recipients. The deadline to apply is Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. EDT.
Special consideration is given to proposals that:

  • Address an unmet need or a gap in current educational approaches.
  • Feature collaboration between two or more institutions, or two or more AAIM member groups.
  • Develop educational innovations with the potential to reach a broad audience

Suggested themes include:

  • Business of Medicine
  • Community Engagement
  • Health Care Disparities
  • High Value Care
  • Learning and Working Environment
  • Mentoring
  • Population Health
  • Quality and Safety
  • Resilience, Burnout, and Well-being
  • Teaching and Learning
Submission for FY2018 grants begins with a Letter of Intent submission. The application deadline was October 18, 2017.

The FY 2018 AAIM Innovation Grants are supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Aquifer (formerly MedU).

The Alliance appreciates the contributions of the AAIM Research Committee Innovations Subcommittee and the 2018 Innovation Grant Coaches.

AAIM Research Committee Innovations Subcommittee

Irene Alexandraki, MD, MPH
Fred R Buckhold, MD, FACP
Jeffrey LaRochelle, MD, MPH
Diana B. McNeill, MD, MACP
Chad S. Miller, MD
Amulya Nagarur, MD
Nora Y. Osman, MD
Stephanie V. Sherman, MD
Andrew C. Yacht, MD
Amy B. Zelenski, PhD, Chair

2018 Grant Coaches

Evelyn C. Chan, MD
Benjamin Doolittle, MD
Shannon K. Martin, MD
Rehan Qayyum, MD
Ajaykumar D. Rao, MD
Ankur Segon, MD, MPH
Winston Tan, MD
Richard M. Wardrop, MD, PhD

Grants Recipients

FY2017 Innovation Grant Recipients
FY2016 Innovation Grant Recipients
FY2015 Innovation Grant Recipients

Innovation Grants Results and Outcomes

Podcasts About Applying

Developing Project Budget
(1:45 mins by Joseph Gough)

Creating Project Outcomes
(7:00 mins by Amy Zelenski, PhD)

Grant Recipient
(6:25 mins by Amit K. Pahwa, MD)

Other Resources

Grant Budget Form