Advocacy Center
NIA GEMSSTAR/ AAIM-ASP T. Franklin Williams Scholars Award
T. Franklin Williams Scholars Program
Integrating Geriatrics into the Specialties of Internal Medicine Project
Educational Innovations
Education Redesign
The Match
Milestones and EPAs
Physician-Scientist Initiative

Print-Friendly Page Print | Email Email T. Franklin Williams Scholars Sponsor Society Contacts 


The T. Franklin Williams Scholars program provides GEMSSTAR award recipients, over a two-year period, up to $50,000 in direct professional development funding and up to $3,000 in travel support to the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) annual meeting.  T. Franklin Williams Scholars program is a joint initiative of ASP and the seven internal medicine subspecialty sponsor societies

Interested physicans must contact the T. Franklin Williams Scholar grants manager at the sponsor society that is most relevant to your research to receive information specific to the sponsor society’s application process.

What if my society is not listed?

If your society is not listed as a partner for the TFWS Award, please contact your society and inquire about awards that could potentially support your Professional Development Plan (PDP). In addition to specialty societies, there are other resources for PDP funding. Below are several suggestions from NIA:

  • Applicant’s institution or affiliated Veterans Administration hospital
  • Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA)
  • NIH K12 or R25 program
  • Older Americans Independence Center (OAIC) Research Career Development Core (RCDC)
  • Other government, public, or private source

T. Franklin Williams Scholars Sponsor Societies

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology (AAAAI)
Jerome Schultz
Telephone: (414) 272-6071
American Diabetes Association (ADA)
Felicia Breedy
Telephone: (703) 549-1500 x2367

American Diabetes Association (ADA)
Felicia Breedy
Telephone: (703) 549-1500 x2367


American Geriatrics Society Foundation for Health in Aging (FHA)
Li-Chia Ong Chansanchai
Telephone: (212) 308-1414 x327

American Society of Nephrology (ASN) Foundation for Kidney Research
Lisa Bryan
Telephone: (202) 570-0590

American Thoracic Society  (ATS) Foundation
Alyssa Chase
Telephone: (212) 315-8696


Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA)
Sharon Cooper Kerr (National Foundation for Infectious Diseases)
Telephone: (301) 656-0003 x14

Stephanie Cox
Telephone: (703) 740-4788


Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM)
Claudia Stahl

This website is optimized for viewing in Microsoft Internet Explorer
             330 John Carlyle Street  | Suite 610 |  Alexandria, VA  22314
Home  |  AAIM Privacy Policy  |  Site Map
© 2014 Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine