Awards Program

Alliance Awards Program

Each year the Alliance and its charter associations honor members of the academic internal medicine community for outstanding leadership, dedication, and service to the profession and the organization through the AAIM Awards Program. With  many different awards designed to honor various positions within departments of medicine and the internal medicine community, there is ample opportunity to ensure your colleagues are recognized for their commitment, enthusiasm, and expertise.

Select the awards category on the right to view more information about each award.

Be sure your colleagues receive the recognition they deserve by answering the call for nominations opening this spring. If you have questions about the AAIM Awards Program, please contact AAIM Member Engagement, Diversity & Inclusion Team  at (703) 341-4540 or email

Past Awards Recipients


2019 Award Recipients

The Alliance is excited to announce the 2019 awards recipients. This year’s recipients represent an outstanding group of academic internal medicine professionals who have been recognized for their exceptional leadership, dedicated service, and astounding achievements. Twelve of the awards recipients will be honored during Academic Internal Medicine Week 2019, being held April 14-17 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia, PA. Join us in congratulating these individuals for their contributions to academic internal medicine.

Rachel B. Levine, MD, MPH 
2019 AAIM Diversity Award

Furman S. McDonald, MD, FACP
2019 AAIM Special Recognition Award

Sheri L. Lawrence, MBA, CMPE
2019 AIM Distinguished Service Award

Keith B. Armitage, MD, FACP
2019 APDIM Dema C. Daley Founders Award

Stephanie A. Call, MD
2019 APDIM Distinguished Medical Educator Award

Haylee Shacklock
2019 APDIM Program Administrators Award 

John M. Carethers, MD
2019 APM Robert H. Williams, MD, Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award 

Calvin R. Brown, Jr., MD
2019 ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award

Sonia Ananthakrishnan, MD
2019 CDIM Early Career Medical Student Educator Award 

Valerie J. Lang, MD, MHPE
2019 CDIM Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, Service Award 

Amber T. Pincavage, MD, FACP
2019 CDIM Charles H. Griffith, III, MD, Educational Research and Scholarship Award 

Britt Simonson, MEd
2019 CDIM Linda J. Marts Administrator Service Award

Amit K. Pahwa, MD, and Danelle Cayea, MD
2019 CDIM Louis N. Pangaro, MD, Educational Program Development Award 

Colleen A. Monaghan, MD
2019 MPPDA Brendan P. Kelly, MD, Award 

Allen R. Friedland, MD, FACP, FAAP
2019 MPPDA Leadership in Med-Peds Award 

Kelly Barnes, C-TAGME
2019 MPPDA Program Administrator Service Award 

Natasha Piracha, MD
2019 Walter W. Tunnessen, Jr., MD, Award