About | Search | Report Feedback  

The Alliance empowers academic internal medicine professionals and enhances health care through professional development, research, and advocacy.

ASP Council

Kevin M. McKown, MD
University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health

Debra Simmons, MD, MS, FACE, FACP
Director of Clinical Affairs
University of Utah School of Medicine

Past President
Abraham Thomas, MD, MPH
Chair of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School—Baystate

Abigail Lara, MD
Assistant Professor
University of Colorado School of Medicine


Steven Barczi, MD
Professor of Medicine, Director of Geriatric Medicine Fellowship, Clinical Director of Geriatrics
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Jeffrey A. Colburn, MD
Core Faculty
San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium

Joseph DeSimone, Jr., MD
Fellowship Program Director
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

Scott Gilbert, MD, FASN
Fellowship Program Director
Tufts University School of Medicine

Jason Kolfenbach, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Fellowship Director
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Solomon Liao, MD, FAAHPM
Director of Palliative Care Services
University of California, Irvine School of Medicine

Mohan Nadkarni, MD
Division Chief, General Geriatric Palliative and Hospital Medicine
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Srikanth Nagalla, MD, MS
Fellowship Program Director
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Southwestern Medical School

Keith L. Obstein, MD, MPH, FASGE
Associate Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Vikas I. Parekh, MD
Associate Program Director
University of Michigan Medical School

Nirav Shah, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Howard Terebelo, MD, DO
Program Director
Providence Hospital and Medical Centers

Joseph Yusin, MD
Chief and Program Director
VA Greater Los Angeles Health Care System

Firas Zahr, MD
Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine

Members At-Large

Amy O'Brien-Ladner, MD
Acting Chair
University of Kansas School of Medicine

Sharma Prabhakar, MD
Professor and Vice Chair
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine

Former Presidents

Former Presidents