About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together

By coming together, we identify new, relevant opportunities to learn, collaborate, and share.

2017 ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Distinguished Professor Award Recipient

Elaine A. Muchmore, MD

ASP has awarded Elaine A. Muchmore, MD, the 2017 Eric G. Nielson, Distinguished Professor Award during Academic Internal Medicine Week 2017, held March 19-22 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD. Dr. Muchmore was presented with her award during the ASP Awards Lunch and Plenary Session.

Named for the association’s founder, the ASP Nielson Award is presented annually to a physician who has shaped the specialty internal medicine landscape and been a leader in the field. In addition, the candidate’s role in assisting ASP achieve its mission is considered.

Dr. Muchmore is credited by her nominators as being “smart, politically savvy and a champion for diversity and inclusion, unafraid to fight the big battles when they need to be fought.” She is cited as a consummate educator with multiple teach of the year awards from her students, residents, and fellows. Her nominators describe her as someone who “has an uncanny ability to see all aspects of an issue and can speak to the stakeholders in their language, anticipating their needs, and building consensus, even if the groups are widely divergent in their thoughts initially.” Dr. Muchmore is also cited with “fighting struggles on behalf of learners as part of her leadership work within the American Society of Hematology (including her time as part of the ASP Council from 2006-2012), AAMC, and even as a member of the Residency Review Committee for Internal Medicine (RRC-IM) for the ACGME.”

Dr. Muchmore currently serves as chair of the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) Resident to Fellow Interface Committee (RFIC). She has published more than 30 major journal articles in both hematology-oncology and medical education covering topics such as performance predictors for standardized testing, improving provider skills and patient experience within palliative medicine, and improving and creating new reporting standards in hematology-oncology for the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Dr. Muchmore is also the 2013 recipient of the American College of Physicians (ACP) Laureate Award.

Dr. Muchmore is currently Professor of clinical medicine and Vice Chair for Education at University of California San Diego, where she has served on the faculty since 1987. She is also the Associate Chief of Staff for Education at the VA San Diego Healthcare System. Dr. Muchmore earned her Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Stanford University. She went on to earn her medical degree from University of California Davis School of Medicine, completed her residency in internal medicine at Virginia Mason Hospital, and a fellowship in hematology-oncology at University of California San Diego School of Medicine.