About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together

By coming together, we identify new, relevant opportunities to learn, collaborate, and share.

2017 APDIM Program Administrator Service Award Recipient

Ruth H. Smith

APDIM awarded Ruth H. Smith the APDIM Program Administrator Service Award during the 2017 APDIM Program Administrators Meeting, March 19-20, 2017 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD.

The APDIM Program Administrator Service Award is presented annually by the association to an administrator who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and support of the organization. The award was presented by the Chair of the APDIM Program Administrators Advisory Council (PAAC), Deena W. Segal.

Ms. Smith is recognized for her outstanding contributions to internal medicine residency administration during her time at New Hanover Regional Medical Center in Wilmington, NC.  She began in her position as an administrative associate in 2003 and was recognized and promoted to Program Administrator in 2008.  Ms. Smith continues to be a leader among the APDIM PA community and her institution.

Ms. Smith has been a member of APDIM since 2004 and is described by her nominators as a dedicated Program Administrator giving her heart and soul to the New Hanover Regional Medical Center Department of Medicine training programs as well as her ongoing contributions to APDIM PAAC.  She is devoted to improving medical education throughout the institution, allowing her passion for medical education to spread outside the walls of her institution and her commitment to APDIM has been extraordinary.

Since joining APDIM in 2004, she has taken on many substantial roles in APDIM. From 2009-2011 she was a member of the Program Planning Committee, and in 2011 she served as Chair of the Program Planning Committee. In 2013 became Chair Elect of the PAAC, Chair in 2014, and Past Chair in 2015.  She has continued to lead a variety of workshops at many APDIM meetings.  Ms. Smith has retired from her position at New Hanover Regional Medical Center December 31, 2016.