About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together.

Our strength in numbers has impact and influence on legislative decision makers and partnering organizations.

AAIM Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The AAIM Diversity and Inclusion Committee is charged to investigate and recommend means to ensure academic medicine represents the diversity of the US population and supports women and underrepresented minorities; provides strategies for departments of internal medicine to build diversity programs and tools to self-assess diversity issues; and administering the AAIM Diversity Award.

Current AAIM Diversity and Inclusion Committee projects, as of September 2017:

  • In collaboration with the AAIM Education Committee, a work group is developing a position paper on how cultural competency and humility should be included in undergraduate and graduate medical education.
  • A work group, led by Sandra Ordonez and Alda Maria R. Gonzaga, MD, is developing a paper to provide resources for programs to assess bias during recruitment-related activities.
  • A work group, led by Chavon M. Onumah, MD, MPH, is developing a manuscript on faculty retention best practices.

For more information about serving on an AAIM committee, please contact the AAIM office at (703) 341-4540 or academicaffairs@im.org.


Chair: Maria Maldonado, MD

Steven R. Barczi, MD (ASP liaison)
Lisa Casey

Jose A. Cortes, MD
Benjamin Diaczok, MD
Fredie Diaz, MD
Catherine E. Garzio
Stephen A. Geraci, MD
Alda Maria R. Gonzaga, MD
Joshua S. Hawley-Molloy, MD
Stacy M. Higgins, MD
Stacey Jolly, MD
Ingrid Jones-Ince, MD
Lia S. Logio, MD (APDIM liaison)
Richard H. Miranda, MD
Chavon M. Onumah, MD
Sandra Ordonez
James Pippim, MD
Jesse Roman, MD (APM liaison)
Rebecca Sell, MD
Daniel S. Shapiro, MD
Grant A. Simmons
Clayton M. Smith, MD
Sylk Sotto (AIM liaison)
Robert L. Trowbridge, MD (CDIM liaison)
Monica Yepes-Rios, MD
Maria A. Yialamas, MD