About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together

By coming together, we identify new, relevant opportunities to learn, collaborate, and share.

ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award
Description and Criteria

About the Award

Named for the association’s founder, the ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award recognizes a leader who has shaped the internal medicine specialties landscape.  The award acknowledges and promotes the work of outstanding leaders who bring about change for specialty medicine and the internal medicine community.

In the spirit of ASP, the Neilson Award recognizes physicians in specialty internal medicine who have led their individual specialty or the entire specialty internal medicine community in one or more of he areas of education research administration, faculty career development, advocacy of internal medicine specialists. 

The award is presented annually at Academic Internal Medicine Week and at a meeting of the recipient’s choice.

Nomination Criteria

Special emphasis will be placed on the candidate’s overall contributions to specialty internal medicine as well as the candidate’s involvement in ASP and support of ASP’s mission.

Nomination Information  

Nominations must be submitted online.

Self-nominations are accepted for this award.

A nomination packet must include:

  • A completed nomination form.
  • One nomination letter.
  • Additional letters supporting the nomination.  Please note, the committee will only consider three letters of support in addition to the first nominator’s letter.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The recipient is selected by the ASP Council.  All nominations will be considered for the year they are nominated as well as the following two years.


For more information regarding the ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award, please contact AAIM Member Services at (703) 341-4540 or memberservices@im.org.