About | Search | Report Feedback  

Even Better Together

By coming together, we identify new, relevant opportunities to learn, collaborate, and share.

APDIM Dema C. Daley Founders Award Description and Criteria 

About the Award

The APDIM  Dema C. Daley Founders Award honors a member of the internal medicine community recognized nationally as an educator, innovator, and leader.

In 2003, APDIM dedicated the award to Dema C. Daley.  Ms. Daley served as APDIM Executive Director from 1987 to 2000; recognizing her contributions, the APDIM Council promoted her to Executive Vice President in 2001, a position she held until her death in July 2002. During her 15 years as the association’s leader, Ms. Daley helped APDIM become “the preeminent professional organization in graduate medical education noted for its promotion of excellence and innovation in leadership and educational methodologies.”

The Dema C. Daley Founders Award is presented annually during Academic Internal Medicine Week.

Nomination Criteria

In selecting a recipient, predominant attention is given to a candidate’s contributions that have influenced areas of undergraduate and graduate medical education and the development of training programs in internal medicine, APDIM, or other organizations that are educationally focused.

Nomination Information

Nominations must be submitted online.

Self-nominations are accepted for this award.

A nomination packet must include:

  • A completed nomination form.
  • One nomination letter.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The recipient is selected by the APDIM Council.  All nominations will be considered for the year they are nominated as well as the following two years.


For more information regarding the APDIM Dema C. Daley Founders Award, please contact AAIM Member Services at (703) 341-4540 or memberservices@im.org.