NIH Research
Education Funding
Other Education Issues
NIH Research
VA Research
AHRQ Research
Patient Care
VA Opens Office of Patient Centered Care (January 20, 2011)

Print-Friendly Page Print | Email Email NIH Releases Call for Pioneer Award, New Innovator Award Applications (July 22, 2010) 

Jessica L. O'Hara 

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) released a request for applications in July 2010 for the NIH Director’s Pioneer Award and the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award.  Applications for the Pioneer Award may be submitted between August 13 and September 13.  Applications for the New Innovator Award may be submitted between August 20 and September 20. 

NIH created the Director’s Pioneer Award as part of the NIH Roadmap.  According to the grant notice, “Pioneer Awards are designed to support individual scientists of exceptional creativity who propose pioneering—and possibly transforming—approaches to major challenges in biomedical and behavioral research.”  In addition, to be considered pioneering, “the proposed research must reflect ideas substantially different from those already being pursued in the investigator’s laboratory or elsewhere.  The program is not intended to expand the funding of persons already well supported for the proposed project.  For the purposes of this funding opportunity, biomedical and behavioral research broadly encompasses scientific investigations in the biological, behavioral, clinical, social, physical, chemical, computational, engineering, and mathematical sciences.

Pioneer Awards are five years in duration and will provide $500,000 per year of the award.  Principal investigators must commit to providing at least 51% of their research effort to activities supported by the Pioneer Award program.  NIH intends to set aside funds for at least seven awards in fiscal year (FY) 2011.

The New Innovator Award program was created in 2007 “to support a small number of early stage investigators of exceptional creativity who propose bold and highly innovative new research approaches that have the potential to produce a major impact on broad, important problems in biomedical and behavioral research.”  The New Innovator Awards complement ongoing efforts by NIH to fund early stage investigators through R01 grants.

New Innovator Awards are five years in duration and will provide $300,000 per year of the awardAwardees are required to commit at least 25% of their research effort each year to activities supported by the award.  NIH intends to support at least 33 awards in FY 2011.

Additional information about the NIH Pioneer Award and NIH New Innovator Award is available on the NIH website.

This website is optimized for viewing in Microsoft Internet Explorer
             330 John Carlyle Street  | Suite 610 |  Alexandria, VA  22314
Home  |  AAIM Privacy Policy  |  Site Map
© 2014 Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine